Prof.-Fabio-Biscarini.jpgThe title of my talk will be:
"Neuromorphic organic devices that specifically sense dopamine vs its metabolites by non- specific interactions”

Fabio Biscarini is Full Professor of Chemistry at University of Modena and Reggio Emilia (UNIMORE) and Senior Researcher at the Center for Translational Neurophysiology-Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia in Ferrara, where he heads the research line “Organic Neuroelectronics” since November 2019.
Biscarini received a laurea in Industrial Chemistry cum Laude at Università di Bologna with Prof. Claudio Zannoni, and a Ph.D. in Chemistry at University of Oregon (USA) with Prof. Carlos Bustamante and Prof. V. M. Kenkre. He was postdoc at CNR Bologna with Prof. Carlo Taliani (ISM) and Prof. Piergiorgio Merli (LAMEL) in 1994-1995. He then became CNR Researcher (1996-2001), Senior Scientist (2002-2010), and Research Director (12/2010-02/2013).
His research interests are organic bioelectronics, label-free biosensors, implantable devices for bidirectional communication with the brain. Before, he studied a variety of aspects of physical chemistry and nanotechnology: from theories of liquid crystals and STM, to experimental activity in fundamentals of thin film growth, self-organization, organic electronics devices, unconventional nanofabrication, advanced characterization techniques in situ- and real time.
He authored more than 240 publications with >10500 citations and h-index 61 (Source: Google Scholar, Jan 2020). He coordinated several EU (9) and National (4) projects, and was principal investigator in 30 EU, National, and Regional projects. He served in the Editorial Board of Chemical Society Reviews (Royal Society of Chemistry, UK) from 2004 to 2008.
He is co-inventor of 19 patents. He founded three start-up companies: Scriba Nanotecnologie srl (2005-), Nano4bio Srl (2008-2015), Organic Bioelectronics Srl (2019-). He has been awarded the 2012 Premio Sapio Industria, and the 2007 EU- Descartes Prize and he is Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry since 2004, and Socio corrispondente dell’Accademia delle Scienze di Modena since 2017.