MNE Fellow Award 2020

To promote micro- and nano-engineering in Europe, the MNE Steering Committee recognizes a researcher or engineer every year who has made outstanding contributions to fields addressed by the MNE conference.

The aim is to honor a researcher or engineer who has inspired the MNE community by his/her leadership or outstanding work. This could, for example, be through leadership in the successful development and commercialization of a technology, the pioneering of a method or development of a tool with significant impact on current research or manufacturing methods, or an outstanding invention.


The award ceremony will take place during a Plenary Session of the MNE Conference. In previous years the MNE Fellow Award was bestowed to:
Dr. Haroon Ahmed from University of Cambridge (founder of Microengineering conference, which became the Micro & Nanoengineering conference) at MNE 2003, Cambridge
Dr. Peter Vettiger from IBM Research – Zurich at MNE 2005, Vienna
Dr. Mike Hatzakis from NCSR Demokritos Athens at MNE 2006, Barcelona
Dr. Bruno Murari from ST Microelectronics at MNE 2010, Genoa
Dr. Luc Van den Hove from IMEC at MNE 2011, Berlin
Dr. Hans Löschner from IMS Nanofabrication AG in Austria at MNE 2012, Toulouse
Prof. Dr. Dieter Kern from the University of Tübingen at MNE 2014, Lausanne
Dr. Emile van der Drift from Technical University of Delft at MNE 2015, The Hague
Prof. Dr. Nico de Rooij, professor emeritus at the EPFL Lausanne and Vice-President at CSEM SA
Prof. Andreas Manz from Saarland University of Saarbrücken at MNE 2017, Braga
Dr. John Randall from Zyvex Labs, USA at MNE 2018, Copenhagen
Prof. Hella-Christin Scheer, University of Wuppertal, Germany at MNE 2019, Rhodes


MNE2020 Best Poster Award
sponsored byraithweb

The MNE conference gives much relevance to the poster session. Contributions selected for poster presentation do not have less scientific quality than contributions selected for oral presentation, but their contents are expected to be more suitable for communication in poster form. To highlight the importance of the poster session, awards are given to the best posters. The poster contest rules you find here


The posters will be evaluated per topic and four Best Poster Awards will be given out, one for each topic:
• Advanced Patterning (Lithography & Etching)
• Nanofabrication/Manufacturing for Functional Structures/Surfaces
• Micro-Nano Devices and Systems (MEMS/NEMS) for physical applications, electronics, photonics and energy
• Micro & Nano Devices and Systems for Life Sciences, Chemistry, and Agrofood


The evaluation will be based on the assessment of the abstract reviewers and by the poster examination from the jury during the conference.
Winner announcement: The Best Poster Award Winners will be announced and handled during the conference dinner on September 16th.


The 2020 Microelectronic Engineering and Micro and Nano Engineering Journals, Young Investigator Award and Lectureship
sponsored by

Honoring and Promoting a Young researcher active in the fields of Nanofabrication and Nanotechnology for Electronics, MEMS and Life Sciences
Microelectronic Engineering family (MEE/MNE) is proud to continue its long contribution (1983-2020) in the field of processing for Micro- and Nano-scale Device and System fabrication. In the past 35 years MEE/MNE has expanded from the field of microelectronics to the fields of Nanotechnology and Microsystems following the rapid proliferation of microelectronics into many new areas and applications. Beyond electronics, MEE/MNE is now also focusing on fabrication of photonic, plasmonic, bioelectronic, electromechanical and fluidic devices and systems and their applications in the broad areas of electronics, energy, life sciences, and environment.
Deadline for applications: April 7th, 2020
For more information click here.


The nano- micro-graph contest

sponsored by


The MNE 2019 micrograph and nanograph contest is now open.
Please submit your favorite, or strange, or spectacular microscope image (SEM, TEM, AFM, SNOM, optical......) to this year's contest organized by Dr John Randall of Zyvex Labs.

The rules include the following:
Entries have to be of a single image taken with a microscope and should not be significantly altered.
There is no restriction with respect to the subject matter.
Since participants vote via their mobile application for the best nano-micrograph, enter your submission as early as possible in order to be seen by participants. It is advised to submit your image before September 11th, or on the first days of the conference or the latest before Wednesday September 16th noon. Awards will be given at the gala dinner Wednesday September 16th and include prizes of 100 Euro and a certificate.
To submit your nano-micrograph please visit the website of Zyvex labs.